News and Press releases


Share :
Share on LinkedIn

François Pérol, Chairman of Groupe BPCE’s Management Board appointed Chairman of the European Savings Banks Group

During the Board Meeting of 8 June, the members of ESBG (European Savings Banks Group) elected Mr. François Pérol, Chairman of the Management Board of BPCE (France) as new Chairman of the ESBG for the period 2012-2015. A new Executive Committee and Board of Directors were also elected for a three year mandate.

François Pérol declared: “The future of the European banking sector, in these tumultuous times, lies for a considerable part in the hands of the European institutions and their leaders. An EU-wide interest representation organisation such as ESBG is of crucial importance and I will do all that I can to use the efficiency and interest representation power of the ESBG to the advantage of the savings and retail banks that are its members. Since savings and retail banks are an important and sustainable part of the European economy, they deserve the best promotion of their interests with policymakers and opinion leaders”.

During the same meeting, a new executive committee was elected. This Committee defines the strategic guidelines for the future of ESBG, with the ultimate goals of strengthening the role of the organisation as the European voice for savings and retail banking.

The ESBG executive committee is as follows:

Chairman: François PÉROL, BPCE (France)
First vice-chairman: Isidro FAINÉ, CECA (Confederación Española de Cajas de Ahorros – Spanish Confederation of Savings Banks)
Christian AICHINGER, Österreichischer Sparkassenverband (Austrian Association of Savings Banks)
Georg FAHRENSCHON, Deutscher Sparkassen- und Giroverband (DSGV – German Association of Savings Banks), Germany
Anders SUNDSTROM, Swedbank, Sweden
Norbert PLATTNER, Italian Association of Savings Banks and Foundations (ACRI), who is also the ESBG Treasurer

Defining strategic guidelines for the future of ESBG, the President’s Committee is an important high-level platform, whose decisions aim to strengthen ESBG as the European voice for savings and retail banking.

François Pérol

A graduate of the HEC School of Management and of the Paris Institute of Political Science (Sciences Po), as well as a former student at the Ecole Nationale d’Administration (ENA) François Pérol began his career in 1990 as an auditor, in the General Inspectorate of Finance. In 1994, he was appointed Deputy Secretary General of the Interdepartmental Commission for Industrial Restructuring (CIRI). In 1996, he moved to the French Treasury Department to assume responsibility as the head of the Financial Markets Office.
Between 1999 and 2001, he served as Secretary General of the Paris Club responsible for international negotiations with debtor countries. In 2001, he became Assistant Director responsible for business financing and development in the French Treasury Department before being appointed deputy Chief of Staff to Francis Mer, Minister of the Economy, Finance and Industry in the French Government, and remained in this position in 2004 when Nicolas Sarkozy was appointed Ministre d’Etat, Minister of the Economy, Finance and Industry.In 2005, he became a General Partner of the investment bank Rothschild & Cie.
In May 2007, François Pérol was appointed deputy Secretary General to the Presidency of the French Republic, in charge of economic issues.On 1 August, 2009, after serving as Chairman of the Management Board of Caisse Nationale des Caisses d’Epargne (CNCE) and Chief Executive Officer of Banque Fédérale des Banques Populaires (BFBP) for five months, since March 2009, François Pérol became Chairman of the Management Board of BPCE, the second largest banking group in France resulting from the completed merger between the Groupe Banque Populaire and the Groupe Caisse d’Epargne. From 1 September 2010 until 1 September 2011, François Pérol was Chairman of the French Banking Federation.